MNS

About the SLT

The School Leadership Team (SLT) of Manhattan New School is a school-based organization composed of parents, teachers and administrators. The SLT meets at least once a month for approximately an hour to work on projects including the Comprehensive Education plan, which sets annual goals for the school in all areas and focuses on developing education strategies for improvement, parent surveys and more.  SLT members work collaboratively with each other, chairing and/or serving on team sub-committees, with the goal of effectively resolving concerns and addressing the needs of all students. The SLT is not a PTA activity and it is not a fundraising entity.

Parent members of the SLT are typically nominated by the school’s nominating committee in May or June of each year. All parent members shall serve a term of two years and may not serve more than two consecutive terms. (However, if no other willing, eligible candidate is identified, a  member may be elected for an additional term.) Members who are unable to complete their term shall be replaced with elections held within 60 days of the members’ resignation.

The number of parent and staff members on the team shall be equal. The School Leadership Team shall have sixteen members. Core members of the team shall be the Principal, the President or Co-President of the Parent Teacher Association and the United Federation of Teachers (UFT) Chapter Chair. These core members shall all be members of the School Leadership Team based on their positions.

In total, team membership shall consist of:

• 7 parent members (including at least one PTA Co-President)
• 1 UFT Chapter Chair
• 2 administrators, the Principal and Assistant Principal
• 4 teachers

Current Members

Contact the SLT: slt@ps290.org

Jamie Kushner, Co-Chair         Teacher                                   jkushner@ps290.org                           

Robyn Marquis, Co-Chair         Parent                                     robynandroger@gmail.com

Doreen Esposito                          Principal                                 desposito@ps290.org                       

Amy O’Brien                                  Asst Principal                       aobrien@ps290.org               

Lisa Rizzi                                         UFT Chapter Leader          lrizzi@ps290.org    

Sophy Joseph                              Teacher                                   sjoseph@ps290.org

Hallie Saltz                                    Teacher                                   hsaltz@ps290.org

Katie Finnegan                            Teacher                                   kfinnegan@ps290.org

MaryAnne Sacco                         Teacher                                   msacco@ps290.org                                

Priya Nagrani                               PTA Co-President               pnagrani@ps290.org

Natalie Barnett                           Parent                                      barnett.nat@gmail.com

Deborah Cohen                          Parent                                      deborahcohen@gmail.com

Sharon Marcus                           Parent                                      petalsnyc@yahoo.com

Ian Reifowitz                               Parent                                      reifowitz@georgetown.edu

Cathy Schaffer Rose                Parent                                      crshaffer@mindspring.com

Mara Saideman                         Parent                                      msaideman28@gmail.com