Manhattan New School's School Leadership Team

The SLT of Manhattan New School is a school-based organization composed of parents, teachers and administrators. The SLT meets at least once a month for approximately an hour to work on projects including the Comprehensive Education Plan, which sets annual goals for the school in all areas and focuses on developing education strategies for improvement, parent surveys and more. SLT members work collaboratively, make decisions by consensus, chair and/or serve on Team sub-committees, all with the goal of effectively resolving concerns that affect the school as a whole. The SLT neither sets educational policy nor its guidelines for teachers; these areas are determined by the MNS administration. The SLT is not a PTA activity and it is not a fundraising entity. 

 

Parent members of the SLT are typically nominated by the school’s nominating committee in May or June of each year. All parent members serve a term of two years and may not serve more than two consecutive terms (however, if no other willing, eligible candidate is identified, a member may be elected for an additional term.) Members who are unable to complete their term shall be replaced with elections held within 60 days of the members’ resignation. Teacher members of the SLT are appointed by the school’s principal.

 

The projects that the SLT focus on vary from year to year. In recent years the team has worked on a school-wide satisfaction survey and the research behind the pros and cons of traditional homework for elementary school-aged children, the findings from which helped to guide the school’s administration in its policies and school-wide improvements.

School Leadership Team 2019-2020

 

Members

Doreen Esposito                                                 Principal                                    DEsposito@ps290.org

Amy O’Brien                                                         Assistant Principal                  AObrien@ps290.org

Annie Ferrante, Co-Chair                                   Teacher                                     AFerrante@ps290.org

Waita Moore                                                        UFT Chapter Leader               WMoore@ps290.org

Angela (Lewis) Buttrill                                         Teacher                                     AButtrill@ps290.org

Katie Finnegan                                                     Teacher                                     KFinnegan@ps290.org

Jamie Kushner                                                     Teacher                                     JKushner@ps290.org

Hallie Saltz                                                            Teacher                                     HSaltz@ps290.org

Cathy Schaffer Rose, Co-Chair                          Parent                                       CRSchaffer@mindspring.com

Ashley Lavin                                                         PTA Co-President                    AKMuldoon@gmail.com

Pam Druif                                                             Parent                                       pamdruif@gmail.com

Jennifer Kunin                                                      Parent                                       jennifer.kunin@emgbenefits.com

Jen Rantala                                                           Parent                                       jenrantala@yahoo.com

Lisa Altman                                                          Parent                                       Leeseasu@hotmail.com

Krista Cohane                                                      Parent                                       Krista.cohane@gmail.com

Katie Smith                                                           Parent                                       KatieSmith0407@gmail.com

Meeting Dates

(All meetings are at 7:30 a.m.)

 

2019

 

  • Tuesday, September 17th

  • Tuesday, October 8th

  • Tuesday, November 12th

  • Tuesday, December 10th

 

 

  • Tuesday, January 14th

  • Tuesday, February 11th

  • Tuesday, March 10th

  • Tuesday, April 7th

  • Tuesday, May 12th

 

PS 290 Manhattan New School
311 East 82nd St.
New York, NY 10028
Phone: 212-734-7127 Fax: 212-772-8879