PS 290 Manhattan New School

2021 National Blue Ribbon School Profile
 

Manhattan New School's School Leadership Team

The SLT of Manhattan New School is a school-based organization composed of parents, teachers and administrators. The SLT meets at least once a month for approximately an hour to work on projects including the Comprehensive Education Plan, which sets annual goals for the school in all areas and focuses on developing education strategies for improvement, parent surveys and more. SLT members work collaboratively, make decisions by consensus, chair and/or serve on Team sub-committees, all with the goal of effectively resolving concerns that affect the school as a whole. The SLT neither sets educational policy nor its guidelines for teachers; these areas are determined by the MNS administration. The SLT is not a PTA activity and it is not a fundraising entity. 

 

Parent members of the SLT are typically nominated by the school’s nominating committee in May or June of each year. All parent members serve a term of two years and may not serve more than two consecutive terms (however, if no other willing, eligible candidate is identified, a member may be elected for an additional term.) Members who are unable to complete their term shall be replaced with elections held within 60 days of the members’ resignation. Teacher members of the SLT are appointed by the school’s principal.

 

The projects that the SLT focus on vary from year to year. In recent years the team has worked on a school-wide satisfaction survey and the research behind the pros and cons of traditional homework for elementary school-aged children, the findings from which helped to guide the school’s administration in its policies and school-wide improvements.

School Leadership Team 2021-22

Members

Doreen Esposito                                                  Principal                                   DEsposito@ps290.org

Farrah Alexander                                                UFT Chapter Leader               FAlexander@ps290.org

Amy Saks                                                              PTA President                          Amymnspta@gmail.com

Lindsay Friedman                                               SLT Chair                                  Lindsaymetz@gmail.com

Amy O’Brien                                                         Assistant Principal                  AObrien@ps290.org

Jamie Kushner                                                     Assistant Principal                  JKushner@ps290.org

Katie Finnegan                                                     Teacher                                    Kfinnegan@ps290.org---

Sabrina Rizzi                                                         Teacher                                    SRizzi@ps290.org

Alex Bees Und Chrostin                                      Teacher                                    Abeessundchrostin@ps290.org

Colleen Liddy                                                        Teacher                                    CLiddy@ps290.org

Julie Fallon                                                             Teacher                                    JFallon@ps290.org

Julia Feldman                                                        Teacher                                    JFeldman@ps290.org

Meghan Lembeck                                                 Parent                                      Meghan.lembeck@gmail.com

Nadia Levy                                                             Parent                                      Nadialevy80@gmail.com

Emaan Moosani                                                    Parent                                      Emaanmnspta@gmail.com

Ellie Pilgrim                                                            Parent                                      Ekpilgrim@gmail.com-

Lauren Posner                                                       Parent                                       Isaacslauren@gmail.com

Meeting Dates

(All meetings are at 7:30 a.m.)

2021-22

October 5, 2021

November 9, 2021
December 7, 2021

January 4, 2022

February 2, 2022

March 1, 2022

April 5, 2022

May 3, 2022

June 7, 2022 OR June 14, 2022---TBD